The changing energy market

Energy suppliers play an enormous role in public life. Aside from utilities, they provide critical infrastructures that are essential for maintaining core social functions as well as health, security and socio-economic well-being of the general public. Any disruption, let alone destruction, of energy plants due to cyberattacks or blackouts would have an enormous impact - especially when their functions can neither be maintained nor taken over.

 

Recent news: Reports from the cybersecurity company ESET, which analyzed the “Crash Override” malware behind the smart grid blackout in Kiev, cite evidence that the malware’s modular structure could be easily adapted to other electric companies and systems. Longer, more significant power failures are predicted for the future.

 

The energy market also faces growing complexity with regard to:

 

  • Infrastructure maintenance and construction including intelligent networks
  • High pressure to minimize costs
  • Demands for renewable energy
  • Customer loyalty
  • Mounting regulations
    - EU guidelines on network and information security (NIS) for critical infrastructures
    - EU data protection regulations
    - EU guidelines for smart grid/market (electricity, energy efficiency, measuring equipment)
    - ISO/IEC 27001/2: Information security management / code of practice
    - ISO/IEC TR 27019: Information security management guidelines based on
      ISO/IEC 27002: Process control systems specific to the energy utility industry
  • Increasing digitalization
  • Greater risk of cyberattacks

 

Energy providers are not only obliged to ensure a reliable energy supply. They also need to effectively prepare for potential emergencies, for example, by identifying risks at an early stage. Due to these factors, managing energy companies is more complex than ever – especially in light of the expectations for higher efficiency. To address these challenges, insurance providers must develop processes and establish standards for modern, efficient enterprise management. Governance, risk and compliance (GRC) processes are taking on a growing role in this regard.  

Core responsibilities of top management

GRC entails much more than individual processes such as an internal control system, compliance or risk management. It combines all capabilities that enable organizations to reliably achieve their goals, cope with uncertainty, and take action with integrity.

Establishing GRC processes and overseeing their ongoing development is one of the main responsibilities of top management – not only due to the tangible benefits they can generate across the company. These types of processes generate synergistic effects, promote collaboration, and ensure long-term performance.

Energy Suppliers

Download

“After our implementation of iRiS, we were able to reduce the controls for integrated risk management in our company by 85.25%.” confirmed Sven Waldecker, Risk Management & ICS Officer at EnBW (Energie Baden-Württemberg AG).

GRC sets the guidelines for transparent, sustainable enterprise and performance management that weighs risks and opportunities to generate value. Companies with a comprehensive GRC concept also have more resources to utilize opportunities because they have a better understanding of the risks and contingent liabilities.

Individual software solution

All companies want to differentiate themselves from competitors – in their market presence, product and service offerings, operational and organizational structures, but also their business and GRC processes. GRC software, therefore, must be very flexible in order to map the designated processes and grow with them over time.

 

Marco Mannes, Corporate Risk Manager at Energie Baden-Württemberg AG (EnBW), works with risk2value from avedos. “The software’s greatest advantage is its incredible flexibility,” he explained. “Once you have internalized the functionality and structure, you realize that you can use the software as building blocks to address many different requirements.” 

 

Many energy providers are taking steps to implement integrated GRC projects. Back in the year 2000, EnBW began building a risk management system that would be later dovetailed with its internal control system. Another example is TransnetBW, which deployed an integrated governance, risk and compliance organization in order to increase efficiency and improve the coordination of different risk information. The maturity level for management and monitoring instruments such as risk management, compliance management and the internal control system have improved as a result.

Webinars

Our on-demand webinars keep you informed on how you can benefit from our solutions for risk management, ISMS and GRC. Learn from the hands-on experience of our clients and experts. Our current library includes:

 

 

Data Protection with risk2value

View the webinar


 

The "Three Lines of Defense" - a matter of corporate culture

View the webinar

 


EnBW

EnBW (Energie Baden-Württemberg AG) is one of the largest energy suppliers in Germany and Europe. The company with a workforce of 20,000 people and supplies 5.5 million customers with electricity, gas, water and energy-related products and services. EnBW is committed to expanding sources of renewable energy, especially wind and hydraulic power. At the same time, the company is securing the energy supply with modern, conventional power plants.

 

 

EnBW

RWE

RWE AG is one of Europe’s 5 leading electricity and gas suppliers. The company has 66,000 employees and over 16 million electricity customers. With its expertise in energy production and generation, the company is active on all levels of the energy value-added chain.  

 

 

RWE

TransnetBW

TransnetBW GmbH operates the electricity transmission grid in the German state of Baden-Württemberg. Approximately 80 transformers connect its transmission grid to the distribution grids in Baden-Württemberg and supply electricity to internationally renowned industrial enterprises and more than 11 million people throughout the state - reliably and at every hour of the day. In this way, TransnetBW ensures the economic strength and quality of life in southwest Germany. 

 

 

TransnetBW

About avedos

avedos GRC GmbH is a European software vendor that has specialized in developing integrated solutions for Governance, Risk and Compliance (GRC). avedos software solutions serve as a link between business operations and top management to enable risk-conscious, value-driven decisions in today’s complex business world. The software platform risk2value supports a wide range of GRC disciplines including enterprise risk management, internal control systems, compliance management, audit management and information security management. Its clients include the world’s largest and most successful automobile manufacturers, insurance companies, telecommunications providers and retailers. 

 

 

Risk
Risk
Control
Control
Compliance
Compliance
Audit
Audit
Security
Security
Value
Value

Contact

Questions? Simply complete our online contact form, give us a call, or send us an email.
We look forward to hearing from you!

Romana Hanig

 

 

Romana Hanig
Sales Executive

+43 1 3670876-136
energy@avedos.com

Marcus Noetzel

 

 

Marcus Noetzel
Head of Sales

+49 170 5564007
energy@avedos.com

Der Energiemarkt im Wandel

Energieversorger sind von enormer Bedeutung für das öffentliche Leben. Sie sind nicht nur einfache Versorgungsunternehmen sondern als „kritische Infrastrukturen“ wesentlich für die Aufrechterhaltung wichtiger gesellschaftlicher Funktionen, der Gesundheit, der Sicherheit und des wirtschaftlichen und sozialen Wohlergehens der Bevölkerung. Eine Störung oder gar Zerstörung von Energieanlagen aufgrund von Cyber–Attacken oder Blackouts hätte erhebliche Auswirkungen, besonders wenn ihre Funktionen nicht aufrechterhalten oder übernommen werden können.

 

Aktuelle News: Laut Meldungen des Cyber-Security-Unternehmens ESET, welches die Malware „Crash Override“ des Kiev-Smart-Grid-Blackouts analysierte, wurden Indizien gefunden, dass die Malware modular aufgebaut und dementsprechend einfach an andere Elektrizitätsbetreiber und -systeme angepasst werden könnte, wodurch künftig weitaus bedeutungsschwerere und längere Ausfälle prognostiziert werden.

 

Zusätzlich muss sich der Energiemarkt immer komplexeren Herausforderungen stellen:

 

  • Infrastrukturerhaltung und -ausbau sowie intelligente Vernetzung
  • Hoher Kostendruck
  • Forderungen nach erneuerbaren Energien
  • Druck durch die erhöhte Wechselbereitschaft der Kunden
  • Steigende Regulierungsmaßnahmen
    - EU-Richtlinie zur Netz- und Informationssicherheit (NIS-Richtlinie)
      für kritische Infrastrukturen
    - EU-Datenschutz-Grundverordnung
    - EU-Richtlinien zum Thema Smart Grid/Market
      (Stromrichtlinie, Energieeffizienzrichtline, Messgeräte-Richtlinie)
    - ISO/IEC 27001/2 "Information Security Management" / "Code of Practice"
    - ISO/IEC TR 27019 "Information Security Management Guidelines based on
      ISO/IEC 27002 for process control systems specific to the Energy Utility Industry"
  • Zunehmende Digitalisierung
  • Erhöhte Gefahr durch Cyber-Attacken

 

Energieversorger haben daher nicht nur die Pflicht eine verlässliche Energieversorgung zu gewährleisten, sondern auch eine effektive Vorbereitung auf potenzielle Notfälle, wie beispielsweise eine frühzeitige Identifikation von Risiken, sicherzustellen. All dies macht das unternehmerische Handeln komplexer und steht der Erwartung nach steigender Effizienz oftmals gegenüber. Um diesen Anforderungen gerecht zu werden, müssen Prozesse entwickelt und Standards etabliert werden, auf deren Basis eine moderne und effiziente Unternehmensführung möglich ist. Dabei kommt den Bereichen Governance, Risk und Compliance (GRC) eine immer größere Bedeutung zu. 

Kernaufgaben des Top Managements

GRC umfasst nicht nur einzelne Prozesse wie Internes Kontrollsystem, Informationssicherheitsmanagement, Compliance oder Risikomanagement, sondern bedeutet vielmehr eine ganzheitliche Bündelung von Fähigkeiten, die es Organisationen ermöglicht, ihre Ziele verlässlich zu erreichen, mit Unsicherheiten umzugehen und integer zu handeln.

 

Die Etablierung und durchgängige Ausgestaltung von GRC Prozessen ist eine der Kernaufgaben des Top Managements, nicht zuletzt weil dadurch ein klarer Mehrwert für das Unternehmen geschaffen werden kann. Derartige Prozesse schaffen Synergien, fördern die Zusammenarbeit und stärken die Unternehmensperformance nachhaltig.

Energieversorger

Download

„Wir konnten die Kontrollen im integrierten Risikomanagement in unserer Gesellschaft nach der iRiS Einführung um insgesamt 85,25% reduzieren.“ bestätigt Sven Waldecker, Referent für Risikomanagement & Internes Kontrollsystem bei der Energie Baden-Württemberg AG (EnBW).

 

GRC bildet dabei den Ordnungsrahmen für eine transparente, risiko- und wertorientierte Unternehmensführung und –steuerung.
Darüber hinaus verfügen Unternehmen mit umfassendem GRC Ansatz über mehr Mittel zur Nutzung von Opportunitäten, da sie ihre
Risiken und damit ihre Eventualverpflichtungen besser kennen.

Individuelle Software-Lösung

Unternehmen versuchen sich zu differenzieren: Sie unterscheiden sich in ihrem Marktauftritt, in den angebotenen Produkten und Dienstleistungen, in der Aufbau- und Ablauforganisation und nicht zuletzt in den Geschäfts- und GRC-Prozessen. Eine entsprechende Software muss daher flexibel sein, genannte Prozesse abbilden und mit diesen über die Zeit mitwachsen.

 

Marco Mannes, Corporate Risk Manager bei der Energie Baden-Württemberg AG (EnBW) über risk2value von avedos: "Der größte Vorteil der Software ist ihre unglaubliche Flexibilität. Wenn man die Funktionsweise und den Aufbau verinnerlicht hat, erkennt man, dass die Software wie ein Baukasten verwendet werden kann, mithilfe dessen eine Vielzahl von Erfordernissen abgedeckt werden kann."

 

Viele Energieversorger setzen nun erste Schritte hinsichtlich der Umsetzung integrierter GRC Projekte. Die EnBW begann bereits im Jahr 2000 ein Risikomanagement aufzubauen und später mit dem Internen Kontrollsystem zu verzahnen. Ein weiteres Beispiel ist die TransnetBW, die sich zur Steigerung der Effizienz und zur verbesserten Abstimmung der verschiedenen Risikoinformationen für eine integrierte Governance-, Risk- & Compliance-Organisation entschieden hat. Das führte zu einem verbesserten Reifegrad von Steuerungs- und Überwachungsinstrumenten wie Risikomanagement, Compliance Management und dem Internem Kontrollsystem.

Webinare

Unsere Webinare halten Sie stets informiert über unsere Lösungen aus den Bereichen Risikomanagement, ISMS und GRC sowie deren Mehrwert. Sehen sie sich unsere Webinar Aufzeichnungen an und profitieren sie von der praktischen Erfahrung unserer Kunden und Experten. Hier geht es zu den Aufzeichnungen:

 

 

Cyber Risiken und Vorfälle - Critical Security Controls mit DI Philipp Reisinger von SBA Research 

Los geht`s


Enterprise Risk Management und Internes Kontrollsystem bei der Energie Baden-Württemberg mit Marco Mannes

Los geht`s


EnBW

EnBW Energie Baden-Württemberg AG gehört zu den größten Energieversorgungsunternehmen in Deutschland und in Europa. Mit rund 20.000 Mitarbeitern werden 5,5 Millionen Kunden mit Strom, Gas, Wasser und energienahen Produkten und Dienstleistungen versorgt. EnBW forciert den Ausbau der erneuerbaren Energien, vor allem der Wind- und Wasserkraft, und sichert gleichzeitig die Energieversorgung mit modernen konventionellen Kraftwerken.

avedos Kunde EnBW

RWE

RWE AG zählt mit seinen 66.000 Mitarbeitern und über 16 Millionen Stromkunden, sowie 7 Millionen Gaskunden, zu den fünf führenden Strom- und Gasanbietern Europas. Mit seinem Know-how in Energieförderung und -erzeugung ist das Unternehmen auf allen Stufen der Energiewertschöpfungskette tätig.

 

 

avedos Kunde RWE

TransnetBW

Die TransnetBW GmbH betreibt das Strom-Übertragungsnetz in Baden-Württemberg. Etwa 80 Transformatoren verbinden die Übertragungsnetze mit den Verteilnetzen und beliefern international bedeutende Industrieunternehmen sowie mehr als 11 Millionen Menschen in Baden-Württemberg mit Strom – zuverlässig und rund um die Uhr. So sichert TransnetBW die Wirtschaftskraft und Lebensqualität im Südwesten Deutschlands.

avedos Kunde TransnetBW

Über avedos

Die avedos GRC GmbH ist ein europäisches Softwareunternehmen mit Hauptsitz in Wien, das sich auf Governance, Risk und Compliance (GRC) spezialisiert hat. Im Kern der Bemühungen steht die Integration der verschiedenen GRC-Disziplinen. Die avedos Softwarelösungen fungieren als Bindeglied zwischen operativen Ebenen und dem Top-Management. Sie ermöglichen risikobewusste und wertorientierte Entscheidungen in einer komplexen Unternehmensumwelt. Die Softwareplattform risk2value deckt eine Vielzahl von GRC-Anwendungsbereichen ab, dazu zählen Enterprise Risk Management, Internes Kontrollsystem, Compliance Management, Audit Management, Informationssicherheitsmanagement und viele mehr. Zu den Kunden zählen die weltweit größten und erfolgreichsten Automobilhersteller, Versicherungen, Telekommunikations und Handelsunternehmen.


Kontakt

Wir freuen uns auf ein Gespräch mit Ihnen! Ob online über Kontaktformular oder persönlich - wir stehen Ihnen gerne zur Verfügung.

Reinhard Schüller

 

 

Reinhard Schüller
Director Sales
Austria & Switzerland

+43 1 3670876-155
energy@avedos.com

Marcus Noetzel

 

 

Marcus Noetzel
Director Sales
Germany

+49 170 5564007
energy@avedos.com