Risk Management in Healthcare

The digital transformation is connecting the global economy like never before. As regulatory pressure continues to grow, owners are demanding more transparency. Management also sees the benefits of better traceability and transparency in internal and external decision-making. As these demands on modern compliance management continue to grow, managing the enterprise becomes more complex as well – especially in light of the high expectations on efficiency.

 

In order to address these challenges effectively, companies of all sizes and industries must develop processes which enable modern forms of enterprise management.

 

The significance of Governance, Risk & Compliance (GRC) processes continues to grow in this regard. GRC is an integrated collection of capabilities to reliably achieve goals, cope with uncertainty, and manage the business with integrity. This creates a strategic link, generates synergistic effects, promotes collaboration, and ensures long-term performance. GRC sets the guidelines for transparent, sustainable enterprise and performance management to generate value by assessing risks and opportunities.   

 

GRC unites the people, resources, processes and technology that are necessary to align and integrate governance, management, performance, risk and compliance in a standardized way. GRC is more than just a collection of individual processes such as an internal control system, information security management or risk management. It integrates the capabilities that enable organizations to achieve their goals reliably, cope with uncertainty, and take actions with integrity. 

 

Companies in the public sector or the field of public services are frequently in the spotlight. 

 

Healthcare, in particular, is feeling the pressure. The sector is in the midst of a major transition due to the constant debate on cost cutting, labor laws and protection, (personal) data privacy and information security (eHealth). Other foreseeable developments in data protection, statutory reporting obligations for safety incidents, and the new safety risks of medical IoT systems add to the complexity. 

 

In response, these companies are starting to delve into assurance processes to engange the responsible individuals on decentralized levels and build management systems that can be centrally developed and maintained.

 

KAV (the Vienna Association of Hospitals) and USZ (University Hospital Zurich) are two organizations that have taken the first steps in this direction.

“What impressed us about risk2value is that the existing ISMS processes are very flexible and can be mapped without major customization. The tool optimally supports the ISMS as a continuous improvement process. As a GRC solution, risk2value also offers the possibility to add further governance domains at USZ step by step. That makes the investment worthwhile,” explained Patrick Greuter, Chief Information Security Officer, USZ.

Healthcare

Download

In both cases, risk2value lays the foundation for information security management and IT risk management. Various control requirements of the 27000 series (e.g. ISO 27001, ISO 27799) and industry standards (HIPAA or ISO 80001) were implemented in the scope of these projects. Tool-driven business impact analyses, comprehensive maturity evaluations as well as suitable reporting functions and workflows were also established for the first time.   


Reference projects

KAV, a hospital association based in Vienna, is one of Europe’s largest healthcare facilities with 11 hospitals, 9 geriatric centers and six nursing homes. The company employs 30,000 staff and provides all patients with superb, around-the-clock medical treatment and care 365 days a year. 

avedos risk2value customer GRC

USZ, the University Hospital Zürich, offers primary medical care and outstanding medical treatment from its central location in Zürich. The company, which employs 7,400 staff at 43 clinics and institutes, applies its academic research and knowledge to solve a wide range of health issues through personable, highly specialized, state-of-the-art medicine.

avedos risk2value customer GRC

About avedos

avedos GRC GmbH is a European software vendor that has specialized in developing integrated solutions for Governance, Risk und Compliance (GRC). avedos software solutions serve as a link between business operations and top management to enable risk-conscious, value-driven decisions in today’s complex business world. The software platform risk2value supports a wide range of GRC disciplines including enterprise risk management, internal control systems, compliance management, audit management and information security management. Its clients include the world’s largest and most successful automobile manufacturers, insurance companies, telecommunications providers and retailers.


Contact

Get in touch with our experts – personally or through our online contact form.
We look forward to hearing from you!

Bo Geurts

 

 

Bo Geurts
Marketing & Communications Manager
Benelux & Nordics B.V.

+31 6 5468 6721
healthcare@avedos.com

Ger van Nijkerken

 

 

Ger van Nijkerken
Regional Sales Manager
Benelux & Nordics B.V.

+31 6533 9 6533
healthcare@avedos.com

Risikomanagement im Gesundheitswesen

Steigender regulatorischer Druck, die zunehmende Vernetzung in der globalen Wirtschaftswelt, die damit einhergehende Digitalisierung, verschärfte Transparenz-Anforderungen der Eigentümer an das Management sowie die Motivation nach Nachvollziehbarkeit und Transparenz von Entscheidungen intern wie extern – all diese Anforderungen an moderne Unternehmensführung machen das unternehmerische Handeln komplexer und stehen der Erwartung nach steigender Effizienz oftmals gegenüber.

 

Um diesen Herausforderungen gerecht zu werden, müssen Unternehmen – unabhängig von Größe und Branche – Prozesse entwickeln, auf deren Basis eine moderne Unternehmensführung möglich ist.

 

Dabei kommt Prozessen aus dem Bereich Governance, Risk & Compliance (kurz GRC) eine immer höhere Bedeutung zu. GRC ist eine integrierte Sammlung von Fähigkeiten, um gesteckte Ziele verlässlich zu erreichen, mit Unsicherheiten umzugehen und integer zu handeln. So wird ein strategischer Bezug hergestellt, Synergien geschaffen, die Zusammenarbeit gefördert und eine nachhaltige Performance gewährleistet. GRC bildet den Ordnungsrahmen für eine nachhaltige, transparente, risiko- und wertorientierte Unternehmensführung und -steuerung.

 

GRC umfasst Menschen, Ressourcen, Prozesse und Technologie, die notwendig sind um Governance, Management, Performance, Risiko und Compliance einheitlich auszurichten und zu integrieren. GRC ist nicht nur die Zusammenfassung einzelner Prozesse wie Internes Kontrollsystem, Informationssicherheitsmanagement oder Risikomanagement, sondern viel mehr eine integrierte Sammlung von Fähigkeiten, die Organisationen in die Lage versetzen gesteckte Ziele verlässlich zu erreichen, mit Unsicherheit umzugehen und integer zu handeln.

 

Gerade Unternehmen der öffentlichen Hand oder mit öffentlichem Auftrag stehen hier immer mehr im Fokus.

 

Besonders das Gesundheitswesen befindet sich in einem starken Wandel und ist aufgrund der ständigen Diskussionen um Kosteneinsparungen, Arbeitsrecht und -schutz sowie (Personen-) Datenschutz und Informationssicherheit (z.B. eHealth) ganz besonders unter Druck. Bereits absehbare Entwicklungen im Bereich Datenschutz, Meldepflichten bei Sicherheitsvorfällen und neue Sicherheitsrisiken medizinischer IoT-Systeme werden diese Komplexität noch weiter unterstreichen.

 

Dies führt dazu, dass diese Unternehmen beginnen, sich und anderem auch aktiv damit zu beschäftigen Assurance-Prozesse zu integrieren, die dezentralen Fachverantwortlichen darin zu involvieren und damit Managementsysteme aufzubauen die zentral verwaltet und weiterentwickelt werden können.

 

Erste Schritte in diese Richtung haben zum Beispiel der Wiener Krankenanstaltenverbund (KAV) und das Universitätsspital Zürich (USZ) gemacht.
„risk2value überzeugte uns dadurch, dass die bestehenden ISMS Prozesse sehr flexibel und ohne grosses Customizing abgebildet werden konnten und das ISMS im fortlaufenden Verbesserungsprozess durch das Tool ideal unterstützt wird. Zusätzlich bietet risk2value als GRC-Lösung die Möglichkeit, weitere Governance Domänen innerhalb des USZ schrittweise einzuführen und ist somit eine lohnende Investition.“ erläutert Patrick Greuter, Chief Information Security Officer des USZ.

In beiden Fällen bildet risk2value die Basis für das Management der Informationssicherheit und des IT Risikomanagements. Im Rahmen der Projekte wurden unterschiedliche Kontrollkataloge der 27000er Familie (z.B. ISO 27001, ISO 27799) und branchenspezifische Standards wie zum Beispiel HIPAA oder ISO 80001 implementiert. Darüber hinaus wurden erstmalig toolgestützte Business Impact Analysen etabliert, umfangreiche Reifegradbewertungen umgesetzt und entsprechende Reporting-Funktionen und Workflows eingerichtet.


Referenzprojekte

Der Wiener Krankenanstaltenverbund (KAV) zählt mit seinen elf Spitälern, neun Geriatriezentren und sechs Pflegewohnhäusern zu den größten Gesundheitseinrichtungen in ganz Europa. Der KAV beschäftigt etwa 30.000 Mitarbeiter und kümmert sich um seine Patienten rund um die Uhr, 365 Tage im Jahr. Allen Patienten wird Spitzenmedizin auf höchstem Niveau geboten.

avedos risk2value Kunde GRC

Das UniversitätsSpital Zürich (USZ) bietet medizinische Grundversorgung und herausragender Medizin an zentraler Lage in Zürich. In 43 Kliniken und Instituten beschäftigt das USZ etwa 7400 Mitarbeitende. Es nutzt seinen universitären Wissensvorsprung, um verschiedenste Gesundheitsprobleme zu lösen: nah am Menschen, hochspezialisiert und auf dem neuesten Stand der Forschung.

avedos risk2value Kunde GRC

Über avedos

Die avedos GRC GmbH ist ein europäisches Softwareunternehmen mit Hauptsitz in Wien, das sich auf Governance, Risk und Compliance (GRC) spezialisiert hat. Im Kern der Bemühungen steht die Vernetzung von GRC Informationen. Die avedos Softwarelösungen fungieren als Bindeglied zwischen operativen Ebenen und dem Top-Management. Sie ermöglichen risikobewusste und wertorientierte Entscheidungen in einer komplexen Unternehmensumwelt. Die Softwareplattform risk2value deckt eine Vielzahl von GRC-Anwendungsbereichen ab, dazu zählen Enterprise Risk Management, Internes Kontrollsystem, Compliance Management, Audit Management, Informationssicherheitsmanagement und viele mehr. Zu den Kunden zählen die weltweit größten und erfolgreichsten Automobilhersteller, Versicherungen, Telekommunikations und Handelsunternehmen.


Kontakt

Wir freuen uns auf ein Gespräch mit Ihnen! Ob online über Kontaktformular oder persönlich - wir stehen Ihnen gerne zur Verfügung.

Reinhard Schüller

 

 

Reinhard Schüller
Director Sales
Austria & Switzerland

+43 1 3670876-155
healthcare@avedos.com

Marcus Nötzel

 

 

Marcus Noetzel
Director Sales
Germany

+49 170 5564007
healthcare@avedos.com