The changing insurance sector

The growing demands on modern corporate governance are making enterprise management more complex than ever. The expectations for higher efficiency often clash with:

 

  • Increasing regulatory pressure   
  • More interlinked global economy
  • Digital transformation
  • Higher requirements on management for transparency   
  • Internal and external motives for more transparency and
    traceability in decision-making

 

The insurance industry, in particular, is subject to fast-changing legal regulations and dynamic capital markets. The new EU data protection regulations or Solvency II with its mandatory “own risk and solvency assessment” (ORSA) are just two examples why companies need to take action in the areas of data protection and risk management. 

 

To address these challenges, insurance providers must develop processes and establish standards for modern, efficient enterprise management. Governance, risk and compliance (GRC) processes are taking on a more important role. 

 

 

Core responsibilities of top management 

 

GRC entails much more than individual processes such as an internal control system, compliance or risk management. It combines all capabilities that enable organizations to reliably achieve their goals, cope with uncertainty, and take action with integrity.

 

Establishing GRC processes and overseeing their ongoing development is one of the main responsibilities of top management – not only due to the clear benefits it can generate across the company. Andreas Wartenweiler, who as Director Risk Management was responsible for implementing an integrated GRC concept at the Swiss insurance company Helsana, confirms this: “Supporting and consulting the management team can lay a valuable foundation to build profitability, business value and corporate sustainability.”  

 

These types of processes generate synergistic effects, promote collaboration, and ensure long-term performance. GRC sets the guidelines for transparent, sustainable enterprise and performance management that weighs risks and opportunities to generate value. Companies with a comprehensive GRC concept also have more resources to utilize opportunities because they have a better understanding of the risks and contingent liabilities. 

 

 

Individual software solution


All companies want to differentiate themselves from competitors – in their market presence, product and service offerings, operational and organizational structures, but also their business and GRC processes. GRC software, therefore, must be very flexible in order to map the designated processes and grow with them over time.

 

As Director Risk & Compliance at the health insurance provider Visana, Bertrand Volken also served as project owner for the implementation of risk2value. He summed up the rollout as follows: “The specific customizing and configuration options of risk2value are outstanding. The tool has an intuitive design which makes it possible to make changes quickly and easily on our own. This was one of the decisive criteria that convinced us to choose [avedos as] the vendor.” 

 

Many insurance companies are taking the first steps in implementing integrated GRC projects. The Swiss insurers, Helsana and Visana, are pioneers in this field and use risk2value from avedos to map their integrated GRC approaches. At UNIQA in Austria, risk2value lays the foundation for information security management and enterprise risk management. Vienna Insurance Group also uses risk2value to map various topics in the field of IT governance. 

Insurance

Download


Reference projects

The Helsana Group is one of the leading Swiss providers of health and casualty insurance. With over 3,000 employees, 1.9 insured persons and 5.7 billion Swiss francs in premium revenues holders, the company ranks among the leaders in the Swiss insurance market.  

avedos risk2value customer GRC

UNIQA Group is a leading insurance group in Austria as well as Central and Eastern Europe. With workforce of 22,000 employees, the company focuses its business on giving people security through suitable solutions.  

avedos risk2value customer GRC

With over 1.1 million insured individuals, Visana Group is one of the biggest providers of health and casualty insurance in Switzerland. The company offers statutory basic health insurance as mandated by Swiss law, supplementary insurance as well as property and casualty insurance. The company has 1,300 employees and a nationwide sales network with approximately 120 offices. 

avedos risk2value customer GRC

With 23,000 employees and premium volumes of EUR 9.1 billion in 2014, Vienna Insurance Group is a leading insurance corporation in Austria as well as Central and Eastern Europe. Innovation, close customer ties and its strong service-driven approach back the company’s high-quality product portfolio of attractive solutions in the field of life and general insurance.   

avedos risk2value customer GRC

About avedos

avedos GRC GmbH is a European software vendor that has specialized in developing integrated solutions for Governance, Risk und Compliance (GRC). avedos software solutions serve as a link between business operations and top management to enable risk-conscious, value-driven decisions in today’s complex business world. The software platform risk2value supports a wide range of GRC disciplines including enterprise risk management, internal control systems, compliance management, audit management and information security management. Its clients include the world’s largest and most successful automobile manufacturers, insurance companies, telecommunications providers and retailers. 

 

 

 

Risk
Risk
Control
Control
Compliance
Compliance
Audit
Audit
Security
Security
Value
Value

Contact

Get in touch with our experts – personally or through our online contact form.
We look forward to hearing from you!

Bo Geurts

 

 

Bo Geurts
Marketing & Communications Manager

Benelux & Nordics B.V.

+31 6 5468 6721
insurance@avedos.com

Ger van Nijkerken

 

 

Ger van Nijkerken
Regional Sales Manager
Benelux & Nordics B.V.

+31 6533 9 6533
insurance@avedos.com

Contact us

Versicherungen im Wandel

Die steigenden Anforderungen an moderne Unternehmensführung machen das unternehmerische Handeln komplexer und stehen der Erwartung nach steigender Effizienz oftmals gegenüber:

 

  • erhöhter regulatorischer Druck
  • die zunehmende Vernetzung in der globalen Wirtschaftswelt
  • die damit einhergehende Digitalisierung
  • verschärfte Transparenz-Anforderungen an das Management
  • die Motivation nach Nachvollziehbarkeit und Transparenz von Entscheidungen - intern wie extern

 

Die Versicherungsbranche ist besonders stark den sich rasch verändernden gesetzlichen Rahmenbedingungen und der zunehmenden Dynamik von Kapitalmärkten ausgesetzt. Zudem machen Anforderungen wie die neue EU-Datenschutz-Grundverordnung und Solvency II, hierbei insbesondere die verpflichtende Durchführung einer unternehmenseigenen Risiko- und Solvabilitätsbeurteilung (Own Risk and Solvency Assessment – ORSA), eine aktive Auseinandersetzung mit Themen wie Datenschutz und Risikomanagement unumgänglich.

 

Um diesen Herausforderungen gerecht zu werden, müssen Versicherungsunternehmen Prozesse entwickeln und Standards etablieren auf deren Basis eine moderne und effiziente Unternehmensführung möglich ist. Dabei kommt den Bereichen Governance, Risk und Compliance (GRC) eine immer größere Bedeutung zu. 

 

 

Kernaufgaben des Top Managements

 

GRC umfasst nicht nur einzelne Prozesse wie Internes Kontrollsystem, Informationssicherheitsmanagement, Compliance oder Risikomanagement, sondern bedeutet vielmehr eine ganzheitliche Bündelung von Fähigkeiten, die es Organisationen ermöglicht, ihre Ziele verlässlich zu erreichen, mit Unsicherheiten umzugehen und integer zu handeln.

 

Die Etablierung und durchgängige Ausgestaltung von GRC Prozessen ist eine der Kernaufgaben des Top Managements, nicht zuletzt weil dadurch ein klarer Mehrwert für das Unternehmen geschaffen werden kann. Andreas Wartenweiler, Leiter Risk Management und zuständig für die Einführung eines integrierten GRC Ansatzes beim Schweizer Versicherungsunternehmen Helsana bestätigt das: „Durch Unterstützung und Beratung des Managements können wertvolle Grundlagen zur Generierung von Ertrag, Mehrwert und vor allem zur Steigerung der unternehmerischen Nachhaltigkeit geschaffen werden.“

 

Derartige Prozesse schaffen Synergien, fördern die Zusammenarbeit und stärken die Unternehmensperformance nachhaltig. GRC bildet dabei den Ordnungsrahmen für eine transparente, risiko- und wertorientierte Unternehmensführung und –steuerung. Darüber hinaus verfügen Unternehmen mit umfassendem GRC Ansatz über mehr Mittel zur Nutzung von Opportunitäten, da sie ihre Risiken und damit ihre Eventualverpflichtungen besser kennen.

 

 

Individuelle Software-Lösung

 

Unternehmen versuchen sich zu differenzieren: Sie unterscheiden sich in ihrem Marktauftritt, in den angebotenen Produkten und Dienstleistungen, in der Aufbau- und Ablauforganisation und nicht zuletzt in den Geschäfts- und GRC-Prozessen. Eine entsprechende Software muss daher flexibel sein, genannte Prozesse abbilden und mit diesen über die Zeit mitwachsen.

 

Bertrand Volken, Leiter Risk & Compliance und Projektowner für die Einführung von risk2value bei der Krankenversicherung Visana, meint zum Rollout: „Das spezifische Customizing und die Konfigurationsmöglichkeiten von risk2value sind hervorragend. Das Tool ist intuitiv aufgebaut und ermöglicht es, einfach und zeitnah selbst Anpassungen vorzunehmen. Diese Möglichkeit war eines der wesentlichen Entscheidungskriterien und hat uns bei der Wahl des Anbieters absolut überzeugt.“

 

Viele Versicherungsunternehmen setzen nun erste Schritte hinsichtlich der Umsetzung integrierter GRC Projekte. Die Schweizer Versicherungen Helsana und Visana sind Vorreiter und nutzen risk2value von avedos zur Abbildung ihres integrierten GRC Ansatzes. Ein weiteres Beispiel ist die UNIQA Österreich Versicherungen AG, wo risk2value die Basis für die Steuerung der Informationssicherheit und des Enterprise Risk Managements bildet. Auch die Vienna Insurance Group nutzt risk2value – und zwar zur Abbildung von IT Governance-Themen.

Versicherungen

Download


Referenzprojekte

Die Helsana-Gruppe beschäftigt über 3.000 Mitarbeiter und ist der führende Schweizer Kranken- und Unfallversicherer. Das Unternehmen zählt mit seinen 1,9 Millionen Versicherten und 5,7 Milliarden Franken Prämieneinnahmen zu der Spitze des Schweizer Versicherungsmarktes.

avedos risk2value Kunde GRC

Die UNIQA Group zählt mit ihren rund 22.000 Mitarbeitern zu den führenden Versicherungsgruppen in Österreich sowie Zentral- und Osteuropa. Das Kerngeschäft beruht darauf, den Menschen Sicherheit zu geben und abgestimmte Lösungen zu entwickeln.

avedos risk2value Kunde GRC

Die Visana-Gruppe gehört mit etwa 1,1 Millionen Versicherten zu den größten Kranken- und Unfallversicherern der Schweiz. Sie bietet die obligatorische Grundversicherung nach dem Schweizer Krankenversicherungsgesetz, Zusatzversicherungen, Sachversicherungen und Unfallversicherungen an. Mit rund 120 Geschäftsstellen und 1.300 Mitarbeitern, verfügt sie über ein landesweites Vertriebsnetz.

avedos risk2value Kunde GRC

Mit einem Prämienvolumen von EUR 9,1 Mrd. im Jahr 2014 und ca. 23.000 Mitarbeitern ist die Vienna Insurance Group ein führender Versicherungskonzern in Österreich sowie in Zentral- und Osteuropa (CEE). Innovation, Kundennähe und konsequente Serviceorientierung prägen die hohe Qualität des Produktportfolios, das attraktive Lösungen im Bereich der Lebens- und Nichtlebensversicherung bietet

avedos risk2value Kunde GRC

Über avedos

Die avedos GRC GmbH ist ein europäisches Softwareunternehmen mit Hauptsitz in Wien, das sich auf Governance, Risk und Compliance (GRC) spezialisiert hat. Im Kern der Bemühungen steht die Integration der verschiedenen GRC-Disziplinen. Die avedos Softwarelösungen fungieren als Bindeglied zwischen operativen Ebenen und dem Top-Management. Sie ermöglichen risikobewusste und wertorientierte Entscheidungen in einer komplexen Unternehmensumwelt. Die Softwareplattform risk2value deckt eine Vielzahl von GRC-Anwendungsbereichen ab, dazu zählen Enterprise Risk Management, Internes Kontrollsystem, Compliance Management, Audit Management, Informationssicherheitsmanagement und viele mehr. Zu den Kunden zählen die weltweit größten und erfolgreichsten Automobilhersteller, Versicherungen, Telekommunikations und Handelsunternehmen.


Kontakt

Wir freuen uns auf ein Gespräch mit Ihnen! Ob online über Kontaktformular oder persönlich - wir stehen Ihnen gerne zur Verfügung.

Reinhard Schüller

 

 

Reinhard Schüller
Director Sales
Austria & Switzerland

+43 1 3670876-155
insurance@avedos.com

Marcus Nötzel

 

 

Marcus Noetzel
Director Sales
Germany

+49 170 5564007
insurance@avedos.com