The 5th AREX Gala was held on November 7th in the Grand Hotel Vienna. Markus Pflüger (Head of Consulting, avedos) took part in a lively round table discussion and presented an award in the category for social profit organizations.

At this year’s gala, a 15-member, independent jury of experts honored visionary supervisory board members with the AREX award. This award, which recognizes excellence and transparency, is a driving force for quality within supervisory boards.  


More than 300 guests from Austria, Germany, Switzerland, Lichtenstein, Italy, Poland, Romania, Croatia and the U.K. participated in the event. This concept, which is unique worldwide, has been hosted by BOARDSEARCH and Brainloop for the fifth consecutive year.


Fotocredit ©leadersnet/Christian Mikes


Markus Pflüger (Head of Consulting, avedos) presented Ernst Marth from Pro Juventute with the AREX award in the category for social profit organizations. The jurors Günther Lutschinger (Fundraising Verband), Cornelia Hulla (Boson Dynamics) and Prof. Michael Meyer summarized their decision stating: "Clear structures between the supervisory board, board of directors as well as regional and district managers are exemplary. The president and supervisory board bring the necessary understanding for social work and insight for business necessities."


Fotocredit ©leadersnet/Christian Mikes


The round table discussion shed light on important topics from the new shareholder guidelines and relevance of ethical, social and governance (ESC) criteria for supervisory boards to the value of integrated reporting. avedos also shares a passion for generating value through integrated reporting. As the founder of the initiative "Visionary Board", it is dedicated to shaping the work of supervisory boards. The company has already begun conducting personal talks with select board members and shares initial insights in the avedos GRC podcast.


The members of this year's round table were:

  • Gabriel Gabriel (Brainloop Schweiz)
  • Johannes Reich-Rohrwig (CMS)
  • Markus Pflüger (avedos GRC)
  • Dieter Wimmer (Comgest, Frankreich)
  • Gerald Gregor (CHUBB, USA)


For further impressions of the event, check out the official photo gallery, event recap and film of the AREX Gala.