Compliance

Compliance means abiding by the rules – from legal requirements to internal organizational guidelines.

 

Corporate Governance

Corporate governance is the control structure for processing business transactions or mutual relations in, between or by means of companies. This type of control matrix is comprised of rules and organizational institutions to manage and control a company. The rules can be formal or informal in nature. Legal regulations and company-specific instructions, guidelines and procedures belong in the first category while company culture and values belong in the second.

 

EU GDPR

The EU General Data Protection Regulation, or EU GDPR for short, is a modernized, updated version of the existing data protection regulations in the EU member states.  GDPR is designed to strengthen the rights of EU citizens with regard to their own data, specifically with respect to the rights of affected individuals.

 

Governance, Risk and Compliance (GRC)

GRC is an integrated collection of capabilities to reliably achieve goals, cope with uncertainty, and manage the business with integrity. Growing regulatory pressure, stricter transparency requirements on management from the owners, digitalization of business models, changing trends, increasing market volatility and the intrinsic motivation for traceable, transparent decisions are making enterprise management more complex than ever – especially in light of the growing expectations on efficiency. By establishing a comprehensive strategy for governance risk and compliance, companies can face these challenges effectively and efficiently.

 

Integrated GRC

Achieving operational excellence requires a strong integration of governance, risk and compliance. The enterprise risk and compliance management policies are defined on the basis of corporate governance. The objective is uniform, binding procedures and guidelines for all employees. Risk management covers all of the actions for systematically recognizing, analyzing, evaluating, avoiding, monitoring and controlling risks. It centers on the continual assessment, documentation, reporting, analysis and steering of risks. Compliance risks are integrated in a compliance management system, where they are documented with rules, processes and actions (e.g. within an internal control system). This method ensures that all internal and external requirements are fulfilled. These three elements are necessary to build a future-proof GRC across the entire organization.

 

Integrity

Integrity describes the moral codex used by companies to conduct their business. Their actions, in turn, must correspond with the defined system of values. Integrity should help companies fulfill their responsibility to stakeholders in an adequate manner and preserve or improve their ability to cooperate.

 

Internal Control System (ICS)

An internal control system ensures the compliance, security and profitability of internal company processes and provides management a reliable foundation for decision-making. It covers organizational measures, management controls and organizational resources.

 
Information Security Management System (ISMS)

An ISMS is part of a complete management system that encompasses the development, implementation, execution, monitoring, auditing, maintenance and improvements to information security based on business risks.

 

Monte Carlo Simulation

A Monte Carlo simulation is an IT-driven algorithm for determining risks in quantitative analysis and decision-making. These methods are used by professionals in a variety of fields (e.g. finance, project management, planning and R&D) and industries (e.g. energy, manufacturing, banking, insurance, oil and gas, transportation and environmental technology). Using a Monte Carlo simulation, decision-makers can recognize which effects can be triggered by a certain action as well as the probability of such an occurrence. These methods demonstrate extreme possibilities – in other words, what could happen if a very risky or conservative decision is made – as well as the possible consequences of moderate decisions.

 

Risk Analysis

Risk analysis is a significant part of risk management processes and serves as a way to identify and evaluate existing and potential risks.

 

Risk Management

Risk management centers on steering organizations in light of risks. It covers processes as well as behaviors. Risk management assesses, analyzes and evaluates potential risks that could pose a threat to a company's assets, finances and profitability in the medium and long term. The objectives include securing the ongoing existence and goals of company against disrupting events and increasing its corporate value.

 

risk2value

risk2value is the GRC software platform from avedos. The software is designed to integrate and link individual GRC information in a uniform management system that generates value by assessing risks and opportunities. This avoids and eliminates the negative effects of information silos with regard to costs, transparency and time. The software platform risk2value supports a wide range of GRC disciplines including enterprise risk management, internal control systems, compliance management, audit management and information security management. risk2value goes beyond a simple documentation or compliance monitoring tool to serve as an active management system.  It supports the process of ongoing development and improvement to ensure operational excellence and sustainable goal achievement in today’s world of insecurity.

 

Resilience

Resilience describes the systematic resistance against failure and change. Agility is the proactive form while robustness is the reactive form. Resilience management covers all actions designed to make an organizational or business system (e.g. of a company) more robust against external influences.

 

Risk Aggregation

Risk aggregation summarizes several individual risks regarding an identical attribute. The goal of risk aggregation in the context of risk management is to determine the entire scope of risk within a company or the individual strategic business units as well as the relative meaning of individual risks. Companies, for example, evaluate the effects of individual risks in the context of their planning models (e.g. budgeted P&L). This approach builds a bridge between risk management and traditional enterprise planning.

 

Risk Appetite

A risk appetite describes the willingness to take and accept risk within the risk capacity in order to achieve strategic goals through threshold monitoring. Defining a risk appetite is part of an overall risk strategic strategy and includes all major individual risks for individual companies and on group levels (total risk appetite).

 

Three Lines of Defense

The three lines of defense model serves as a guideline for a holistic governance, risk and compliance (GRC) system for managing enterprise risks. The model embeds the roles and responsibilities of the company's internal control system in an all-encompassing GRC system. Here the functions assigned to the respective lines of defense are linked to the risk management tasks which are regularly documented with a classic management control loop.

Compliance

Unter Compliance ist die Einhaltung von Regeln zu verstehen – sowohl gesetzlicher Vorgaben wie auch unternehmensinterner Vorgaben.

 

Corporate Governance

Unter Corporate Governance ist die Steuerungsstruktur zur Abwicklung wirtschaftlicher Transaktionen oder Austauschbeziehungen in, zwischen und mittels Unternehmen zu verstehen. Eine solche Steuerungsmatrix setzt sich zusammen aus Regeln und organisatorischen Einrichtungen zur Führung und Kontrolle eines Unternehmens. Die Regeln können dabei sowohl formaler als auch informaler Natur sein. Gesetzliche Rahmenbedingungen und unternehmensspezifische Anweisungen, Leitlinien und Verfahren gehören in die erste, Unternehmenskultur und Unternehmenswerte in die zweite Kategorie.

 

EU-DSGVO

Die EU-Datenschutz-Grundverordnung oder auch kurz EU-DSGVO beziehungsweise GDPR (General Data Protection Regulation) ist eine Modernisierung und Anpassung der bestehenden Datenschutzregelungen in den EU-Mitgliedsstaaten. Mit der EU-DSGVO sollen insbesondere die Rechte der EU-Bürger in Hinblick auf ihre Daten gestärkt werden. Dabei geht es um die so genannten Betroffenenrechte.

 

Governance, Risk und Compliance (GRC)

GRC ist eine integrierte Sammlung von Fähigkeiten, um gesteckte Ziele verlässlich zu erreichen, mit Unsicherheit umzugehen und integer zu handeln. Steigender regulatorischer Druck, verschärfte Transparenz-Anforderungen der Eigentümer an das Management, die Digitalisierung der Geschäftsmodelle, wechselnde Trends und zunehmende Marktschwankungen, die intrinsische Motivation für Nachvollziehbarkeit und Transparenz von Entscheidungen – all diese Anforderungen an moderne Unternehmensführung machen das unternehmerische Handeln komplexer und stehen der Erwartung nach steigender Effizienz oftmals gegenüber. Mit der Etablierung einer umfassenden Governance, Risk und Compliance Strategie können sich Unternehmen diesen Herausforderungen effektiv und effizient stellen.

 

Integrität

Mit diesem Begriff soll in der Regel zum Ausdruck kommen, dass Unternehmen ihrem Geschäft auf moralisch vertretbare Weise nachgehen. Das tatsächliche Handeln muss demnach in Einklang mit dem definierten Wertesystem stehen. Integrität soll die Unternehmen dabei unterstützen, der durch ihre Stakeholder zugeschriebenen Verantwortung angemessen nachzukommen und ihre Kooperationsfähigkeit zu bewahren bzw. zu verbessern.

 

Integriertes GRC

Um Operational Excellence zu erreichen, braucht es eine enge Verzahnung von Governance, Risk und Compliance. Auf Basis der Corporate Governance wird das Regelwerk für das unternehmerische Risiko- und Compliance Management definiert. Das Ziel sind einheitliche und verbindliche Verfahren und Richtlinien für alle Mitarbeiter. Das Risikomanagement umfasst sämtliche Maßnahmen zur systematischen Erkennung, Analyse, Bewertung, Vermeidung, Überwachung und Kontrolle von Risiken. Im Fokus steht das kontinuierliche Erheben, Dokumentieren, Berichten, Analysieren von sowie das Steuern der Risiken. Compliance Risiken sind in das Compliance Management

integriert. Dort werden sie mit Regeln, Prozessen und Maßnahmen (etwa in Form eines Internen Kontrollsystems) unterlegt. Dieses Verfahren stellt sicher, dass alle internen und externen Anforderungen erfüllt werden. Nur in diesem Dreiklang lässt sich zukunftsweisendes GRC über die gesamte Organisation aufbauen.

 

Internes Kontrollsystem (IKS)

Ein internes Kontrollsystem gewährleistet die Ordnungsmäßigkeit, Sicherheit und Wirtschaftlichkeit der internen Abläufe eines Unternehmens und bietet dem Management eine verlässliche Grundlage für dessen Entscheidungen. Es umfasst organisatorische Maßnahmen, Kontrollen durch das Management und organisatorische Hilfsmittel.

 

Informationssicherheitsmanagement-System (ISMS)

Ein ISMS ist als Teil des gesamten Management Systems zu verstehen, der auf Basis eines Geschäftsrisikoansatzes die Entwicklung, Implementierung, Durchführung, Überwachung, Überprüfung, Instandhaltung und Verbesserung der Informationssicherheit abdeckt.

 

Monte Carlo Simulation

Die Monte Carlo Simulation ist eine computergestützte, mathematische Technik, die ermöglicht, das Risiko in quantitativer Analyse und Entscheidungsfindung nachzuweisen. Diese Technik wird von Fachleuten in vielen verschiedenen Branchen verwendet, wie z. B. in Finanz, Projektmanagement, Energie, Fertigung, Planung, Forschung und Entwicklung, Versicherung, Öl und Gas, Transport und Umwelttechnik. Durch die Monte Carlo Simulation kann der Entscheidungsträger erkennen, welche Ergebnisse eine gewisse Handlungsweise mit sich bringen könnte und was die Eintrittswahrscheinlichkeit solcher Ergebnisse ist. Monte Carlo zeigt die extremen Möglichkeiten – d. h. was passieren könnte, wenn eine sehr riskante bzw. sehr konservative Entscheidung getroffen wird – und auch die möglichen Konsequenzen von moderaten Entscheidungen.

 

Risikoanalyse

Die Risikoanalyse ist ein bedeutender Teil des Risikomanagement Prozesses und dient dazu, bestehende sowie potenzielle Risiken zu identifizieren und zu bewerten.

 

Risikomanagement

Risikomanagement ist darauf ausgerichtet, Organisationen hinsichtlich Risiken zu steuern. Es umfasst einerseits Prozesse und andererseits Verhaltensweisen. Risikomanagement erhebt, analysiert und bewertet potenzielle Risiken, die die Vermögens-, Finanz- und Ertragslage eines Unternehmens mittel- und langfristig gefährden könnten. Die Ziele umfassen die Sicherung des Fortbestandes eines Unternehmens, die Absicherung der Unternehmensziele gegen störende Ereignisse und die Steigerung des Unternehmenswertes.

 

risk2value

risk2value ist die GRC Software Plattform von avedos. Die zentrale Zielsetzung ist die Vernetzung von einzelnen GRC Informationen in ein einheitliches, risiko- und wertorientiertes Management System um damit Silos, die zu einer Vielzahl von Nachteilen im Kontext Kosten, Transparenz, Mehraufwand, etc. führen, zu vermeiden bzw. zu eliminieren. Die Softwareplattform risk2value deckt eine Vielzahl von GRC Anwendungsbereichen, wie Enterprise Risk Management, Internes Kontrollsystem, Compliance Management, Audit Management, Informationssicherheitsmanagement und viele mehr, ab. risk2value ist kein bloßes Dokumentations- oder Compliance Überprüfungstool, sondern ein aktives Management System. Es unterstützt den Prozess der Weiterentwicklung und ständigen Verbesserung, um Operational Excellence und nachhaltige Zielerreichung bei Unsicherheit zu gewährleisten.

 

Resilienz

Unter Resilienz wird die systemische Widerstandsfähigkeit gegenüber Störungen und Veränderungen verstanden. Hierbei wird zwischen einer proaktiven Form (Agilität) und einer reaktiven Form (Robustheit) unterschieden. Resilienz Management umfasst alle Maßnahmen mit dem Ziel, die Belastbarkeit eines organisatorischen oder betriebswirtschaftlichen Systems, z. B. eines Unternehmens, gegenüber äußeren Einflüssen zu stärken.

 

Risikoaggregation

Risikoaggregation beinhaltet die Zusammenfassung mehrerer Einzelgrößen (etwa Einzelrisiken) hinsichtlich eines gleichartigen Merkmals. Zielsetzung der Risikoaggregation im Kontext Risikomanagement ist die Bestimmung des Gesamtrisikoumfangs des Unternehmens bzw. der einzelnen strategischen Geschäftseinheiten sowie der relativen Bedeutung der Einzelrisiken. In der Praxis werden hierzu die Wirkungen von Einzelrisiken im Kontext der im Unternehmen genutzten Planungsmodelle (beispielsweise Plan-GuV) bewertet, eine Vorgehensweise, die die Verbindung zwischen Risikomanagement und "traditioneller" Unternehmensplanung ermöglicht.

 

Risikoappetit

Unter Risikoappetit versteht man das bewusste Eingehen und den Umgang mit Risiken innerhalb der Risk Capacity (Risikokapazität – im weitesten Sinne Risikotragfähigkeit) zur Erreichung der strategischen Ziele sowie dessen regelmäßige (Limit-) Überwachung. Die Festlegung des Risikoappetits als Teil der Risikostrategie berücksichtigt sowohl alle wesentlichen Einzelrisiken auf Einzelinstituts- als auch aggregiert auf Gruppenebene (Gesamt-Risiko-Appetit).

 

Three Lines of Defense

Das Three Lines of Defense-Modell kann als Ordnungsrahmen für ein ganzheitliches Governance, Risk und Compliance Management System (GRC System) zur Steuerung der Unternehmensrisiken dienen. Im Modell werden die Rollen und Verantwortlichkeiten des Internen Kontrollsystems des Unternehmens in ein ganzheitliches GRC System eingebettet, indem die den jeweiligen Ver­tei­di­gungs­linien zugeordneten Funktionen mit den Aufgaben des Risikomanagements verknüpft werden, die regelmäßig mit einem klassischen Managementregelkreis beschrieben werden.